The Meaning of Indian Government Logo | Legacy of Rich Culture

four majestic lions

One aspect of the 2500-year-old civilisation has not altered, and that is the variety of our cultures on the peninsula. Our government’s logo, which is among the best and most distinctive in the world, serves as the best illustration of our magnificent culture. The Republic of India approved our government’s logo, which serves as the country’s national emblem on January 26, 1950.

Only used for official functions, the National Emblem commands the utmost reverence from Indian residents. It serves as the official seal for all federal, state, and local government offices and is a necessary component of every official government letterhead. It is prominently displayed on all banknotes as well as official identifying documents including Indian passports and other travel documents. India’s national emblem serves as a symbol of its independence from the outside world and the sovereignty of the nation.

Why The Pillar of Sarnath?

Pillar of Sarnath

The first sovereign, united India is credited to Emperor Ashoka, the greatest ruler of the great dynasty of the pre-Christian era. After witnessing the continuous bloodshed his quests caused throughout the nation, Emperor Ashoka converted to Buddhism. After that, he made non-violence, spiritualism, tolerance, and benign coexistence the pillars of his government rather than conquests and battles. He built the four-lion pillar at Sarnath in Uttar Pradesh. This is why it’s thought to be the ideal representation of India as a sovereign, socialist, secular, democratic, and republican country. Not only that, but it is also the source of our national motto, “Satyameva Jayate,” written in the Devnagari script. The phrase “Truth alone triumphs” is taken from the final and most philosophical of the four Vedas, the Mundaka Upanishad.

Meaning of Four Majestic Lions

Meaning of Four Majestic Lions

Friedrich Oscar Oertel, a German-born civil engineer, discovered the Sarnath Pillar in three fragments in 1905. The emphasis on equality and fairness in all sectors of life is symbolised by the four lions of the capital linked back to back. Given that Buddha is represented by a lion and that he has four main spiritual theories, the four lions likewise stand for these four ideologies. The National Emblem’s depiction of the capital features three lions, which stand for strength, courage, and confidence. It also represents maintaining continual watch in all four directions. The Ashok Chakra, named for the monarch who popularised it, is the name of the circular wheel in the centre, which is a variation on the Buddhist Dharma Chakra. The 24 spokes of the chakra depict the passing of time and stand-in for the 24 hours in a day. The ancient philosophy of this pillar is still the diamond in the world.

Why Do Ashoka Use Other Four Animals?

Ashoka Use Other Four Animals

The lion represents the north, the elephant represents the east, the horse represents the south, and the bull represents the west. The four animals alternately depicted between the chakras are thought to be the guardians of the four directions. These creatures seem to be rolling the chakras around the cylinder. All of these animals have been alluded to as symbols for Buddha himself in some Buddhist scriptures, and they can be seen as him passing on the Dharma. Another interpretation holds that these four creatures stand for the various phases of Lord Buddha’s life. The elephant stands for Prince Siddhartha’s conception. The horse represents Siddhartha giving up his regal existence in search of Bodhi, while the bull represents Siddhartha in his youth. The lion represents Siddhartha’s metamorphosis into Buddha and the moment he attained Bodhi under the Peepal tree.

Ashoka symbol to crown new Parliament

Ashoka symbol to crown new Parliament unveiled
Previous Post
Top 10 Famous Logos Of All Time
Next Post
Brand Name and How It Affects My Business Strategy